Tomassoni Chisesi Prize

To honour the memory of Mrs. Caterina Tomassoni and Dr. Felice Pietro Chisesi, the prize is awarded to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in physics. The prize will be assigned without regard for the nationality of the awardee or the geographical site at which the work was accomplished.
Since 2013, the awards were unified into a single premium. A prize titled "Caterina Tomassoni and Felice Pietro Chisesi Prize" is presented each year on April, at Sapienza University of Rome. The prize consists of Euro 40,000, of an allowance for travel to the awarding ceremony, and of a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.
Name of the winners since 2001

Year Chisesi - Tomassoni Tomassoni - Chisesi

Serge Haroche

Univ. Pierre et Marie Curie/Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris 

Premio Nobel 2012

Ignazio Ciufolini

Università del Salento Lecce


Non Assegnato

Non assegnato


Pierre Encrenaz

Univ. Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris

Membro Accademie de France dal 2000

Lisa Randall

Harvard University

Cambridge (MA) – USA



Till Kirsten

Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics – Heidelberg 


Federico Capasso

Harvard University - USA


Igor Novikov

University Observatory of Copenhagen

Piero Zucchelli

CERN./Ist. Fisica Nucleare


Wolfgang Goetze

Techincal Univ. of Munich

Savas Dimopolous

Stanford University - USA



Non Assegnato

Non Assegnato


Edward Lorenz

Univ. di Harvard - USA

Gerald Gabrielse

Harvard University

Cambridge (MA) - USA


Gabriele Veneziano

CERN - Ginevra

Thomas W. Ebbesen

Université de Strasbourg - France


Massimo Inguscio

CNR – Roma -

Alex Zunger

University of Colorado

Boulder - USA


Paul L. Richards

University of Berkely – USA


Herbert Spohn

TUM – Munich - Germany


Non assegnato

Non assegnato


Alain Aspect

Institut D'Optique – Ecole Polytechinque - 

Membro dell''Academie de France



Igor Klebanov

University of Princeton (MA) USA


Charles Bennett

J. Hopkins University – Baltimora - USA


Adalberto Giazotto



Fabiola Gianotti

CERN Ginevra


Prof. Philip Kim

Harvard University, USA

Prof. Scott Aaronson

University of Texas – Austin- USA


Prof. Giulia Galli

University of Chicago, USA

Prof. Alexander Szameit

University of Rostock, Germany


Prof. Jo Dunkley

Princeton University, USA

Dr. Karoline Schäffner

Max-Planck-Institute for Physics, Werner Heisenberg Institut, Germany

Winner 2021: Fondazione Sapienza - Tomassoni Chisesi Physics Prize



Winner over 40 category:
Prof. Michele Vendruscolo
University of Cambridge,
United Kingdom


Michele Vendruscolo has made highly innovative and important contributions to our understanding of the fundamental physical principles that regulate protein function and dysfunction in living systems. His work, which brings together concepts and methods from disciplines ranging from mathematics and physics to molecular biology and medicine, has made it possible to establish powerful general principles based on the quantitative analysis of complex molecular systems. Applying this methodology has pioneered an innovative drug discovery approach for Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diseases based on quantitative physical principles. He has established an interdisciplinary translational program to bring together academia and industry to implement such approach in an effective drug discovery platform.



Winner under 40 category:
Dr. Zohar Komargodski
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
State University of New York, Stony Brook (USA)


For his outstanding and influential contributions to Quantum Field Theory and the theories of the fundamental interactions. In particular, for developing a new and deeper insight into the structure of the Renormalization Group, through his proof (with A. Schwimmer) of the irreversibility of its flow in four dimensions, the so-called ‘a-theorem’.
In addition, for other important insights, in various collaborations, on supersymmetric and conformal field theories, field theories in curved spaces and strongly coupled gauge theories.






L' Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza" - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma