After earning a degree can continue in the curriculum of university studies for a PhD.
The PhD research is based on three years. The start of classes specialized PhD is usually in February. In addition to the lessons provided in different years, doctoral students are required to follow the general seminars that are held in the Department during the three-year course.
The Physics Department offers three Doctoral Programs

>> Physics
>> Astronomy; Astrophysicis and Space science
>> Accelerator Physics

Each program lasts three years. Applicants are selected for admission on competitive examination. The Doctoral Programs are designed to provide a thorough knowledge and deep insight into the main disciplines underlying the student's field of specialization, and at developing appropriate skills, professional attitudes, competence and methodological rigour as required to carry out highly qualified activity of research in specific areas. 

The three doctoral programs of the Physics Department together with other three programs in Chemistry and Mathematics are offered by the
Doctoral School "Vito Volterra" for Astronomical Chemical Physical and Mathematical Sciences Sapienza - Università di Roma


© Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza" - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma