JENAS Initiative “Gravitational Wave Probes of Fundamental Physics"

JENAS Initiative “Gravitational Wave Probes of Fundamental Physics"

Dear Colleagues,  We are happy to announce the first Bottom-Up Cross-Cutting Workshop of the JENAS Initiative “Gravitational Wave Probes of Fundamental Physics”, to be held at Sapienza University of Rome on Feb, 12-16 2024.

This workshop is the kick-off event of the JENAS Initiative “Gravitational Wave Probes of Fundamental Physics”, launched some years ago and subscribed by 650+.

The workshop webpage is available here:

In the spirit of getting all members involved from the very beginning of this effort, only the main broad topics of the workshop were fixed (those discussed in this manifesto), while the entire workshop structure and specific topics emerged from the bottom up, based on the feedback from the community.

We will have slots for contributed talks, round tables, and discussion.

The deadline for abstract submission is Nov 10th, 2023.

The workshop will be organized around 5 working groups: 

  • WG1: Matter under extreme conditions

  • WG2: Nuclear and atomic physics and their role in multi-messenger astronomy

  • WG3: Fundamental problems in high-energy and gravitational physics

  • WG4: GWs & Cosmology

  • WG5: Synergies between particle accelerators and GWs


List of invited speakers & Conveneers:

  • Niayesh Afshordi (CAN)

  • Michalis Agathos (UK)

  • Andreas Bauswein (DE)

  • Diego Blas (ES)

  • Richard Brito (PT)

  • Katy Clough (UK)

  • Pippa Cole (IT)

  • Monica Colpi (IT)

  • Maximilian Dax (DE)

  • Gabriele Franciolini (CH)

  • Ettore Majorana (IT)

  • Cristiano Palomba (IT)

  • Krisztian Peters (DE)

  • Ira Rothstein (USA)

  • Nils Schöneberg (ES)

  • Jan Steinheimer (DE)

  • Sarah Vigeland (USA)


Sincerely,  Tetyana Galatyuk, Paolo Pani

on behalf of the Steering Committee:  Sven Bernitt, Gianfranco Bertone, Vitor Cardoso, Roberto Emparan, Tetyana Galatyuk, Tanja Hinderer, Aleksi Kurkela, Ann-Cecilie Larsen, Marlene Nahrgang, Samaya Nissanke, Paolo Pani, Rafael Porto, Antonio Riotto, Stephan Rosswog

L' Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza" - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma