Welcome to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics, University of Rome La Sapienza is the natural heir of the tradition of Enrico Fermi, Ettore Majorana and Edoardo Amaldi (School of Rome), and is renowned throughout the world for high quality research, international prestige and the diversity of the courses offered.

World University - Ranking 2014
The courses of our Department are among the top 25 in the world in the area of Physics and Astronomy and First in Italy.

Department head:  Paolo Mataloni

Administrative Secretary:  Lisena Rubini